Such Sweet Thunder: A Listening Session

General Programming

December 2, 2021 Thursday, 7:00pm EST Virtual Event Faculty House, Columbia University

This event has been postponed until Spring 2022.

  • Columbia University Office of the President
  • Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies
  • Department of English and Comparative Literature
  • Core Curriculum
  • Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Art Gallery
  • The Society of Fellows and Heyman Center for the Humanities
  • Miller Theater
  • The Center for Jazz Studies
  • Free and open to the public
  • Registration required. See details.

Renowned composers and instrumentalists Courtney Bryan and Nicole Mitchell will join Professor Brent Hayes Edwards for a live listening session featuring the Duke Ellington Orchestra's 1957 recording of Such Sweet Thunder, sharing some of their favorite sections of Ellington's suite and discussing some of the innovative ways Ellington and his collaborator Billy Strayhorn orchestrated their classic "tone parallel" to Shakespeare.

Courtney Bryan, Tulane University
Brent Hayes Edwards, Columbia University
Nicole Mitchell, University of Pittsburgh

Pre show performance with:

The Louis Armstrong Jazz Performance Program Students
Stephanie Chow (guitar), Andre Yan (sax), Paul Torres (bass)

Register for in-person or virtual attendance. Please note that though this is a public event, in accordance with Columbia University's COVID-19 protocols for public health in-person attendance is restricted to Columbia Affiliates ONLY. All other attendees can attend via the event livestream.

Please RSVP for a link to the event livestream and instructions for in-person attendance for Columbia affiliates.