Skip to main content


Poets at Barnard: Claudia Rankine and Robert Hass

General Programming

dateFebruary 25, 2015 timeWednesday, 7:00pm EST location Barnard Hall, Sulzberger Parlor, Barnard College
  • Barnard College
  • Image Credit/Caption: Elizabeth Weinberg (Rankine) and Margaretta Mitchell (Hass)
Headshots of Claudia Rankine and Robert Hass

Barnard College and The Heyman Center for the Humanities present Poets at Barnard Winter Reading with Claudia Rankine and Robert Hass, reading and in discussion.

Claudia Rankine is the author of Citizen: An American Lyric; Don't Let Me Be Lonely; Plot; The End of the Alphabet; and Nothing in Nature is Private. In 2014, Rankine was awarded Poets & Writers' Jackson Poetry Prize, awarded to an American poet of exceptional talent who deserves wider recognition, as well as the Lannan Literary Award. Rankine co-edited the anthology American Women Poets in the 21st Century: Where Lyric Meets Language, and her work is included in several anthologies, including Great American Prose Poems: From Poe to the Present, Best American Poetry 2001, Giant Step: African American Writing at the Crossroads of the Century, and The Garden Thrives: Twentieth Century African-American Poetry.

Robert Hass served as Poet Laureate of the United States from 1995 to 1997 and as a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets from 2001 to 2007. His books of poetry include The Apple Trees at Olema: New and Selected Poems (Ecco Press, 2010); Time and Materials (2007), which won the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize; Sun Under Wood: New Poems (Ecco Press, 1996), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award; Human Wishes (Ecco Press, 1989); Praise (Ecco Press, 1979), which won the William Carlos Williams Award; and Field Guide (Yale University Press, 1973).

The event is free and open to the public. Seating is first come, first served.

  • Claudia Rankine Poet
  • Robert Hass Poet