Skip to main content


Max Ritvo Poetry Series: Featuring Louise Glück

General Programming

dateMay 10, 2022 timeTuesday, 6:00pm–7:30pm EDT location Miller Theatre, Columbia University
  • Miller Theatre's COVID-19 policies and guidelines require attendees to provide proof of full COVID-19 vaccination with an accompanying ID.

    Books for sale at Bookculture and at the event.

  • The Society of Fellows and Heyman Center for the Humanities
  • Columbia University School of the Arts
email address [email protected]
  • Free and open to the public
  • Registration required. See details.
  • Image Credit/Caption: Louise Glück © Katherine Wolkoff
Headshot of Louise Glück with words Max Ritvo Poetry Series: Louise Glück

This event is currently at capacity. A standby list will begin in person at the Miller Theatre box office at 4 pm on Tuesday, May 10. Any available tickets will be released to the standby list in the order of names received beginning at 5:45pm. We ask that you please be physically present at the time your name is called — otherwise, your spot may be given to the next individual in line.

Louise Glück, recipient of the 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature, is the author of many books of poetry, including The Triumph of Achilles, which won the National Book Critics Circle Award, and The Wild Iris, which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. Her most recent collection, Winter Recipes from the Collective, was published last fall, and her previous collection, Faithful and Virtuous Night, received the 2014 National Book Award. She is also the author of two books of essays, American Originality and Proofs and Theories, winner of the 1993 PEN/Martha Albrand Award for First Non-Fiction. The recipient of many other awards and distinctions, including the Wallace Stevens Award, the Bollingen Prize, the National Humanities Medal, and the United States Poet Laureateship from 2003–2004, Glück currently teaches at Yale University, where she is the Rosenkranz Writer-in-Residence. She lives in Cambridge.

The annual Max Ritvo Poetry Series is organized in memory of Max Ritvo ’16, author of Four Reincarnations and The Final Voicemails, and co-author of Letters from Max.

This series is supported by an endowment gift made in memory of Max Ritvo by the Alan B. Slifka Foundation.