The Governing Board of the Society of Fellows and Heyman Center for the Humanities comprises Columbia University and Barnard College faculty working across a range of disciplines and schools. Together they lead the Society and its activities, including annually selecting and mentoring Fellows, participating in workshops and lectures, and otherwise supporting and guiding the mission of the SOF/Heyman.

View by

Nadia Abu El-Haj


Barnard College

Hiba Bou Akar

Urban Planning

Noam M. Elcott

Art History

Eileen Gillooly

English and Comparative Literature

Kaiama L. Glover

French and Africana Studies

Barnard College

Marguerite Holloway

Science and Environmental Journalism

Joseph A. Howley

Classics and Chair, Literature Humanities

David C. Johnston

Political Science

Brian Larkin


Barnard College

Eugenia Lean

East Asian Languages and Cultures

Dorothea von Mücke

Germanic Languages

Katharina Pistor

Comparative Law

Samuel K. Roberts

History and Sociomedical Sciences

Joerg M. Schaefer

Earth and Environmental Sciences

Benjamin Steege

Music and Chair, Music Humanities